Neil Patrick Harris


Golden Globe-nominated and Emmy Award-winning actor, Neil Patrick Harris, will return as host of the 2012 Antoinette Perry "Tony" Awards® on Sunday, June 10th, live from the Beacon Theatre in New York City. This will be the third time that Harris has hosted the telecast, previously serving as host for both the 63rd Annual Tony Awards in 2009, and the 65th Annual Tony Awards in 2011. The Tony Awards will air live on CBS from 8:00-11:00PM (ET/PT time delay). The American Theatre Wing's Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.

I'm thrilled to be a part of this year's Tony Awards, said Neil Patrick Harris. Not only will I be shining a spotlight on the best that Broadway has to offer, but hopefully I'll score some free house seats to a show or 5.

The 2012 Tony Awards will be executive produced by Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment. In 2010, Kirshner and Weiss, along with host Neil Patrick Harris, earned an Emmy Award on behalf of the 63rd Annual Tony Awards in the category of Outstanding Special Class Program.

We're excited to be working once again with the extremely talented Neil Patrick Harris, said Kirshner and Weiss. Last year's show was such a success and we can't wait to bring it to new heights this year!

Kirshner and Weiss previously won the Emmy Award in the Outstanding Special Class Programs category in 2011 for the 64th Annual Tony Awards; in 2008 for the 61st Annual Tony Awards; in 2007 for the 60th Annual Tony Awards; and in 2005 for the 58th Annual Tony Awards.
The June 2010 broadcast of the 64th Annual Tony Awards was also honored with an Emmy for Outstanding Writing for a Variety, Music or Comedy Special. Weiss was also the recipient of the Emmy for Outstanding Directing for a Variety, Music or Comedy Program in 2003 for the 56th Annual Tony Awards. Kirshner and Weiss have acted as executive producers of the Tony Awards telecast for the past seven years. Together Kirshner and Weiss have now won Emmys for the 59th, 60th, 61st, 63rd, and 64th Tony Award Telecasts.

Tony Awards- ogo


The Antoinette Perry "Tony" Award, which was founded by the American Theatre Wing in 1947, is bestowed annually on theatre professionals for distinguished achievement on Broadway. The Tony is one of the most coveted awards in the entertainment industry and the annual telecast - the night America watches Broadway - is considered one of the most prestigious programs on television.

Neil Patrick Harris also served as host and producer of the 61st Annual Primetime Emmy Awards. Equally successful on stage and screen, Harris currently stars as Barney Stinson on the hit CBS sitcom, "How I Met Your Mother," a role which has garnered him multiple Emmy and Golden Globe Award nominations, as well as a People's Choice Award for Favorite TV Comedy Actor, and a Critics' Choice Award for Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series. A veteran of the theater, Harris recently tackled the role of Bobby in the New York Philharmonic's production of Stephen Sondheim's
Company at Lincoln Center. Harris made his Broadway debut in the Pulitzer-Prize winning drama, Proof, and subsequently starred on the Great White Way as the Emcee in Cabaret, and as The Balladeer/Lee Harvey Oswald in the Tony Award-winning musical revival production of Assassins. His additional theatrical credits include roles in All My Sons, Tick, Tick...Boom, The Paris Letter, Sweeney Todd, Rent, and Romeo and Juliet. Harris made his theatrical directorial debut with I Am Grock at the El Portal Theatre in North Hollywood. Additionally, he directed a production of Jonathan Larson's Rent at the Hollywood Bowl in Los Angeles, and more recently he helmed a production of The Expert at the Card Table at the Broad Stage Theater. On screen, Harris most recently starred in the third installment of the comedy franchise, A Very Harold and Kumar 3D Christmas, and the live-action/animated feature, The Smurfs. Among his additional film credits include roles in Beastly, The Best and the Brightest, Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, Harold and Kumar Escape from Guantanamo Bay, Harold and Kumar Go to White Castle, Undercover Brother, The Next Best Thing, The Proposition, Starship Troopers, and Clara's Heart (Golden Globe nom.). On television, Harris gained notoriety as the beloved title character in "Doogie Howser, M.D." (People's Choice Award, Golden Globe nom.). Furthermore, he recently won an Emmy Award for his guest-starring turn in "Glee." Among Harris' additional television credits include a series regular role on "Stark Raving Mad," as well as guest-starring roles in "Numb3rs", "Law & Order: Criminal Intent", "Will & Grace", and "Boomtown."

The American Theatre Wing's Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. At The Broadway League, Nick Scandalios is Chairman and Charlotte St. Martin is Executive Director. At the American Theatre Wing, Theodore S. Chapin is Chairman and Heather Hitchens is Executive Director. For Tony Award Productions, Alan Wasser and Allan Williams of Alan Wasser Associates are the General Managers. Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment are the Executive Producers of the 2012 Tony Awards. Mr. Weiss will also serve as Director of the 2012 Tony Awards.